As a sequel to the signing of the Historic Memorundum of Settlement between the Government of India and the Mizo National Front in 1986, Mizoram was granted Statehood on February 20, 1987 as per Statehood Act of 1986 and Mizoram became the 23rd State of the Indian Union.

The Capital of Mizoram is Aizawl. The Mizoram State Legislative Assembly has 40 seats. Mizoram is now represented at the Parliament by two members, one in the Lok Sabha and the other in the Rajya Sabha.

Mizoram has witnessed vast constitutional, political and administrative changes during the past years. The traditional cheiftainship was abolished and the District and Regional Councils created under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India, give a substantial measure of local control. Today, the Lais, Maras and Chakmas have seperate autonomous District Councils. The Village Councils are the grassroots of democracy in Mizoram.

Mizoram is divided into 8 Districts:-
Aizawl Aizawl
Mamit Mamit
Lawngtlai Lawngtlai
Kolasib Kolasib
Champhai Champhai
Lunglei Lunglei
Saiha Saiha
Serchhip Serchhip