Along with the rest of the country, Mizoram also observed the 70th Independence Day across the state with Independence Day functions held in all the District capitals and important towns of Mizoram.

In the biggest Independence Day Celebration held at Lammual, Chief Minister Shri Lal Thanhawla paid rich tributes to the freedom fighters and the leaders of the Freedom Struggle and called upon the citizenry to rededicate themselves to fulfill the dreams and aspirations of the founders of our mighty nation.

Shri Lal Thanhawla said “On this historic and glorious day in the annals of our great country – the 70th Independence Day, I extend my warm greetings to the people of Mizoram and to all the citizens of our great nation. It was on this day sixty-nine years ago, that we emerged from the shadows of domination, the yokes of oppression and injustice into a sovereign nation, standing on our own feet and inspiring others to walk the path to self determination and independence”.

He said “Let us recall with pride and honour, the selfless sacrifices of the leaders of our Freedom Struggle such as Mahatma Gandhi, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad and other such luminaries and enlightened minds; let us also remember the unsung stories of each and every brave hearted foot-soldier of our epic struggle and pay homage to the leaders and all those who contributed to our Freedom. It is because of their sacrifice that we can bask in the glory of democracy today. On this momentous occasion, let us all rededicate ourselves to the ideals on which our nation was founded and reflect upon the values and principles on which our nation is based. Let this day be not just a symbolic day but let it be, a day that every Indian across the globe can take pride and commit to making our nation greater in the global world”. The Chief Minister highlighted various achievements of the Government in the last one year. He also spoke extensively on the New Economic Development Policy (NEDP) and how the policy aims to lead Mizoram from a subsistence economy to a market economy. Closing his Independence Day Speech, the Chief Minister said “Let me also take this opportunity to thank and express my sincere gratitude to all government functionaries, voluntary and civil society organization, the Churches, the media and the people of Mizoram for their full cooperation, trust and support which has been an enabling factor for the government in achieving its goals. I hope that in the years to come, we will see even greater people's participation in the process of socio-economic development”.

The following Awards and Prizes were given by the Chief Minister at the 70th Independence Day Celebration, today:

1)Bravery Award: Jeevan Raksha Padak Award 2015 was handed to Pi R. Zoengmawii, w/o Pu Robert Zote, Zotlang Veng for saving the life of Elizabeth Lalramnghaki on hnenah 9.10.2014 when she was electrocuted.

2) State Award for Teachers 2015 were awarded to – Pu Lalthantluanga Tochhawng, Lecturer, Govt. GM Higher Secondary School; Pu Lalchhanhima Chhangte, Headmaster, Govt. Seling Middle School and Pi C. Ramngaihsangi, Headmistress, Govt. Electric Primary School-II, Aizawl.

Pu LT hrangchal, IPS DIG Northern Range has been selected to receive President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service while Pu C. Lalzahngao, SP Kolasib; Pu C. Lalnunmawia, SP Mamit; Pu Zosangliana SP Lunglei; Pu Zoramsanga Ralte Asst. Commandant, 1st Battalion MAP and Pu C. Lalremliana, Inspector, Police Headquarters have been selected to receive President’s Medal for Meritorious Service. Inspector Zochama has also been selected to receive the Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Police Training. Announcements of these Awards were made at the function today.

Today’s Independence Day Parade had the participation of 30 contingents including 3 band parties. Among the 6 Armed Contigents, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Prize Winners were Ist Meghalaya Police Battalion; Police Training School No.2 Platoon and Ist Battalion MAP respectively. Among the 8 Unarmed Contigents, the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Prize Winners were 20th Mizo Independent Company NCC; 1 Mizo Air Squadron NCC and Govt. Aizawl College NCC respectively. Among the 13 School Contingents St. Joseph’s Higher Secondary School; Govt. Hrangchhuana High School and Divine Intervention School were awarded the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Prizes respectively. Today’s Independence Day Parade Commanders were Shri Zonun Thara, Dy. SP., Mizoram Police and Shri Timothy R. Lalhmangaiha, Dy. S.P., Mizoram Police.

(The full speech of Hon’ble Chief Minister on the occasion of the 70th Independence Day has been uploaded in the Speech section of the website)


  • Loading attachment...