The newly elected Councillors of Aizawl Municipal Corporation (AMC) were administered oath by Aizawl District Magistrate Pu R. Lalramnghaka, IAS at a function held at the Board of Councillors, AMC Office. At the function Ward I Councillor Pu Lalrinenga Sailo was elected as the Mayor while Ward XII Councillor Pu R. Thanglura was elected as Deputy Mayor. The new Mayor nominated 4 Councillors as Executive Councillors. They are - Ward II Councillor Pu Lalringliana; Ward IV Councillor Pu Laltlanzova Khiangte; Ward IX Councillor Pi B. Lalawmpuii and Ward XI Councillor Pu H. Zonunsanga.

In the recently held AMC elections, the ruling MNF won 11 seats, ZPM won 6 seats and INC won 2 seats. 33 percent of seats are reserved for women i.e. 6 seats; 2 women candidates won from general seats taking the number of women Councillors in the 19 member Corporation to 8.  

Today’s swearing in function of the Councillors was attended by Deputy Chief Minister Pu Tawnluia, who holds the Urban Development & Poverty Alleviation portfolio and other senior Ministers including Health Minister Dr. R. Lalthangliana.


  • Loading attachment...