Aizawl, 13th October 2020 :  A meeting of the District Level Standing Committee was held today at the Aizawl DC’s Conference Hall chaired by the District Election Officer / Deputy Commissioner Pu R.Lalramnghaka.

In today’s meeting, progress on the on-going e-roll preparation was reported on and it was also highlighted that Draft Roll will be published on 16.11.2020 and thereafter, the final roll publication will be on 20.01.2020. As directed by the Election Commission of India (vide letter no.23/2020-ERS dtd. 4th September, 2020) that maximum number of voters for a polling station be fixed at 1500, thorough verification of the various polling stations within the district was carried out under the supervision of the Election Officer. The recommendation for rationalisation of polling stations thereafter received from the concerned BLOs and political representatives was discussed threadbare in the meeting. The polling stations which have been recommended for rationalisation are : Chaltlang-III, Laipuitlang, Ramthar Veng-I, Zuangtui-I, Zotlang-II, Dinthar-V, Mission Vengthlang-I, ITI Veng-I, Tlangnuam-I, Tlangnuam-II and Hlimen-I. Besides these, some more requests for further rationalisation of existing polling stations as well as applications for change of polling station building received by the Election Branch were also discussed in today’s meeting.