The Governor of Mizoram, Lt. Gen. (Rtd) M.M.Lakhera, PVSM,AVSM,VSM  graced the closing function of the 2nd Mizoram Youth Parliament Competition 2010 at Vanapa Hall  today. Besides the Governor,  Shri R Romawia,the Speaker of Mizoram Legislative Assembly, Shri Lalsawta, Minister, Parliamentary Affairs Dept. and Shri Chawngtinthanga Parliamentary Secretary, graced the function as Guests of Honour.

Addressing the function, the Governor said that in a democracy, citizens have rights and duties, and that a mature democracy is one where the people are aware of their responsibilities as good citizens and abide by the law of the land. He urged the audience and the  participants to take interest and be aware of the functioning of Legislative bodies at different levels of governance. Further, he commended the decorum and order maintained by  the members of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly in the House and added that they are an example for other States.

The Speaker of Mizoram Legislative Assembly Shri R Romawia stated  that the Youth Parliament Competition is a very useful forum which can be effectively used to teach children and make them understand the functioning of the country's Legislative bodies. Shri Lalsawta, Minister, Parliamentary Affairs Dept. also said that the competition will boost the confidence of students and can be an important tool in making good citizens out of children.

The 2nd Mizoram Youth Parliament Competition 2010 was organised by Parliamentary Affairs Department, School Education Department and the Mizoram State Legislative Assembly Secretariat. The competition was held in all the different Districts of Mizoram between 17th August to 1st September, 2010 and the winning teams from each Districts competed for the final round on 2nd and 3rd September here in Aizawl. The competition was conducted in Mizo language for High School students while the Higher Secondary students competed in English.

The Governor  distributed prizes for the winners of the 2nd Mizoram Youth Parliament Competition 2010. The results are as follows:

High School Category (Mizo) :

1st   :     Hmar Veng H/S, Kolasib
2nd  :    Govt. Champhai H/S, Champhai
3rd   :   Govt. H/S, Saiha

Higher Secondary School Category (English)  :

1st   :    St. Paul's H.S.S, Aizawl
2nd  :    Baptist H.S.S, Serkawn, Lunglei
3rd  :    Govt. G.M. H.S.S, Champhai

Awards were also given to students who excelled in 3 categories such as Speaker, House Leader, Opposition Leader and Debator.

MLAs, Parliamentary Secretaries and important officials also attended this function.


  • Loading attachment...