Aizawl, the 19th June 2020 : Pu K. Vanlalvena, the MNF party’s nominee for the lone Rajya Sabha seat was declared elected as Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha today. His electoral win was announced by Returning Officer for the election Pu H. Lalrinawma, Commissioner & Secretary, Mizoram Legislative Assembly after the counting result was intimated by fax to the Election Commission of India (ECI) by Joint CEO Pu David Liansanglura, Observer for the election nominated by ECI, who then gave the nod for the announcement of the outcome.

39 legislators out of 40 MLAs of Mizoram Legislative Assembly cast their votes today at the Assembly Secretariat and soon after the time for casting of votes was closed at 4 PM, the votes were counted and the results intimated to ECI.

Pu K. Vanlalvena secured 27 votes while the two other contenders – Zoram People’s Movement nominee Pu B. Lalchhanzova and Indian National Congress nominee Dr. Lallianchhunga garnered 7 and 5 votes respectively.

Pu K. Vanlalvena is currently a Member of the National Core Committee of Mizo National Front and has headed the party’s youth front. He was an active student leader during his student days serving as President and Vice President of the influential student body – Mizo Zirlai Pawl (MZP). Born on 14th December 1970 to Pu K. Laizika and Pi Sangvungi at East Lungdar village in Serchhip District, he completed his B.Sc. degree from Pachhunga University College. He is married to Pi H. Lalhuapzauvi and has 3 children.


  • Loading attachment...