Sports Minister Zodintluanga attended Mizoram Open Badminton Championship 2010 (Chief Minister's Running Trophy) closing function held at Serchhip Town Hall on last Saturday (12th June) as a Chief Guest.

Speaking at the function, Sport Minister Zodintluanga said that government was aware of the potential of Mizoram youths in games & sports and has undertaken 'Catch Them Young' programme to identify and promote the dormant talent of youths' right from their childhood, and in pursuance of this programme the Minister further said that government was ever trying to provide the best possible sports infrastructures and facilities.

He also exhorted sports persons presented there to abstain themselves from all the vices of intoxicants and to uphold themselves in worth emulating manner. He exhorted them further to put their hearts and souls into their chosen field, so that no hurdles were insurmountable in their patch to glory, a glory not only for Mizoram and India but for the whole World. "In the fast changing world, we cannot afford to take games & sports merely for fun and physical exercises, it is a livelihood for those who excelled in it, be excelled  and make it your livelihood ", he added.

In the closing function   Minister Zodintluanga participated in friendly Men's Doubles match and won the match with his partner, before giving away prizes to the winners from various categories which was held later in the evening.

This closing function chaired by PC Vanlalsawma,Chairman Organising Committee was also attended by Pu H.Darzika Serchhip DC, Pu Lianzuala,Secretary MSSC,  officials from Sports &Youth Services Department and various Head Of Offices at Serchhip.In this Mizoram Open Badminton Championship 2010 Tournament, 79 males and 20 females players participated and all together 106 Matches were played. Winner of different categories are as follows:-
Category                                      Winner
Men's single                               Lalnunpuia (MPBC)
Women's single                      Lalrinzuali (MPBC)
Men's Doubles                       Lalthanliana & Lalnunmawia (MPBC)
Women's Doubles                   Lalduhzuali & F. Vanlalhriatpuii (MPBC)
Under 16 Boys                        Laltleipuia (HBC)
Under 16 Girls                         Ruth Vanlalpeki (KDBA)  
Under 19 Boys                        Laltanpuia (SDBA)
Under 19 Girls                          F. Vanlalhriatpuii (MPBC)
50 Plus (Doubles)                        Lalaramzauva & Sangliana Hnamte
45 plus (Doubles)                Lalrinkima & Zabiakthanga (TTBC)
45 plus (Single)                         Lalhmingmawia (LDBA)
35 Plus (Single)                        Lalbiakmawia (MPBC)
35 Plus (Doubles)                     Lalbiakmawia & Lalthanzuala (MPBC)          



  • Loading attachment...